I am Tired of being Silent

I am tired of being silent. I am tired of being told to stay in my lane, to go with the flow of opinion, to let people say demeaning things to be because they’re family, friends, or colleagues. I am tired of being asked if I’m still a virgin, of being told “I’m dumbing this down for you,” of being insulted because I’m a woman.

I am tired of being silent. I was silent too many times during this election cycle. Do you think it’s alright to vote for someone that’s a pig, that’s a rapist, that’s a liar, that’s a bigot just because the other candidate deleted some emails? Just because the right media spread lies about her, told you her voice was annoying, that she had no leadership skills? Is ignorance the new normal now? Do you think it’s alright to sit there and take that shit in and believe it? I let the lies and propaganda circulate because I didn’t want to get involved in a social media war. I was afraid to lose friends, to embarrass myself in front of my family, to create a fissure between them and me.

I am tired of being silent. I am tired of watching people spew ignorance, hate, bigotry, and flat out falsehoods. I am tired of white supremacy and sexism. I am tired of the lies people tell themselves to excuse their position of power and write off the obvious: that cops kill black people, that sexual assault is a violation of something you claim to be so precious that it should stay between one man and one woman forever, that refusing to take in refugees is refusing to save lives, that your belief that you deserve freedom of religion but a Muslim does not is twisted and backwards and ignorant.

I am tired of being silent. I am tired of sitting back while people “Praise God, Trump is president!” when every word of every chapter of every book in the Bible you claim you read everyday screams that what Trump has said and done is not godly and should never be accepted. You shout at the top of your lungs that America needs God, that America needs salvation, that America needs prayer in schools, but then you elect a disgusting, perverted, terrible man to bring that God back. I am tired of the ignorance, of the hypocrisy it takes for you to say that you fear God, and that God is at the center of your life, but then you fully support the hate and the poison that comes out of Trump’s mouth.

I am tired of being silent. I will not listen to your bullshit anymore. I will not listen to you tell me that Donald Trump will save America because you have no idea what that even means. If I asked you what Trump is saving America from, you would have no idea what to tell me. From liberalism? Damn, what a crime. From the immoral? Nothing the left stands for is immoral. You have been brainwashed and I cannot be silent anymore.

I am tired of being silent. I will yell as loud as you do but louder. I will shout and drown your hatred with facts, with actual love for the people of this nation. I will never be silent again. I will never let anyone talk down to me again. I will counter all the lies with truth. I will fight against sexism until the day I die. I will scream until I cannot scream any longer. And when you tell me to get over it, to stop crying, to stop being an emotional, hormonal woman, I will keep chanting, keep fighting, keep living, and keep loving until the moment my last breath stops, until the moment my last heartbeat fades, until the world finally hears me.

I am tired of being silent, but I will never be silent again.

Leave a Reply

